According to a recent article in Neurology, wheat can cause severe headaches. The article states that the results of a small study show that some may experience migraine headaches due to a protein found in wheat, oats, barley, rye, and spelt. The protein is called gluten, and symptoms were reduced by eliminating the protein in seven out of nine patients.
Gluten sensitivity can include celiac disease, an inherited inability to digest gluten that results in abdominal distention, vomiting, diarrhea, muscle wasting, and lethargy.
Dr. Joseph Mercola, editor of the Mercola Newsletter went on to say that “Wheat is not good for most of us. Some of us tolerate it, but most would benefit by avoiding it. The unfortunate problem is that most of us are addicted to it.”
The ancient grain, spelt, was included in this list. Some people tolerate spelt because, as an ancient, un-hybridized grain, it contains a different type of gluten from wheat. However, people who are very sensitive to gluten should avoid virtually all grains with the exception of rice and millet, two grains that contain no gluten at all.
Another note on grain…
One website states that sprouted grain products can also contain gluten. They write: “Sprouting is a process where we take dry dormant grains and pre-germinate them in water to maximize nutrition through vitamin and mineral growth. During the sprouting process enzymes are released which transform starch, protein and gluten (which reside in the endosperm portion of the grain) into usable energy such as maltose and other nutrients.
“What’s important to note is that gluten is chemically changed during the sprouting process thru enzymatic action to a more digestible or tolerable state. Different from the raw state of gluten (which is known to cause the most damage to the villi of the small intestine in celiacs and other reactions in gluten sensitive individuals) the chemically altered gluten present in sprouted grains may not cause a reaction with certain individuals with mild sensitivities to gluten.
“Many individuals who have gluten sensitivities use sprouted products with no adverse side effects or allergic reactions. However each person’s individual constitution is different…we would advise any person with gluten sensitivities to consult their physician before consuming any product that may contain gluten.”
This information was taken from the Ezekiel Bread website. Note that Ezekiel Bread contains gluten. If you are very sensitive to gluten, we encourage you to avoid eating this sprouted bread as it may cause symptoms (including weight gain).
Primal Body, Primal Mind: Beyond the Paleo Diet for Total Health and a Longer Life by Nora T. Gedgaudas
Tags: allergies gluten